EDIT; the company comments below bad reviews asking people to email them, but never actually responds to the email or calls you like they say they will. Extremely low quality sushi for the amount of money paid ($109) This was our first time here and we were excited to try. The sushi was not fresh and felt thrown together. Several pieces were falling apart. I would not recommend. We werenβt able to even finish the meal. I will not be back here.
Definitely a must stop Ike its part of the routine on a bus stop! The atmosphere was very calm amd comfortable. The staff was elite, from dine in to the orders out the door. Chefs turned up the heat to make us dance in our seat amd the drinks were divine to make the meal complete!! The duck was better than I was expecting. For the record, they might have had the best chicken noodle soup I've ever had while dining out! I've been back three times. So this is a must stop if you're in the dover DE. Or surrounding areas!!
Awful customer service experience, but they made it right. UPDATE: after I left the review below, they reached out immediately and made it right, and then some.
We order from Chiyo on rt 10 about once a week and have so for years. We've had issues with orders before, but nothing too bad. That changed today. My husband ordered dinner ( rolls, rice, and curry) at 4:30pm. He went to pick it up at 5. Then, 5:15 comes and they tell him the system crashed and it will be 20 minutes. FORTY MINUTES later, my husband has to call back and is told it will be a bit longer because the rolls aren't done. Staff we not proactive in updating him or offering solutions.
He saw several groups go in the restaurant, eat, and leave in the time he was waiting.
They kept him waiting for over an hour and offered no apology. When he asked for a refund because he was sick of waiting, he was told no because "the food was already made."
We have spent THOUSANDS at this restaurant and this is how they act.
Poor customer service, long waits even after initial wait time. Not prepared for holidays or rush times. To go food often cold due to poor time management when preparing items.
Cute place! The food was amazing and priced perfectly. The drunken noodles lunch box was delicious.
EDIT; the company comments below bad reviews asking people to email them, but never actually responds to the email or calls you like they say they will. Extremely low quality sushi for the amount of money paid ($109) This was our first time here and we were excited to try. The sushi was not fresh and felt thrown together. Several pieces were falling apart. I would not recommend. We werenβt able to even finish the meal. I will not be back here.
Awful customer service experience, but they made it right. UPDATE: after I left the review below, they reached out immediately and made it right, and then some.
We order from Chiyo on rt 10 about once a week and have so for years. We've had issues with orders before, but nothing too bad. That changed today. My husband ordered dinner ( rolls, rice, and curry) at 4:30pm. He went to pick it up at 5. Then, 5:15 comes and they tell him the system crashed and it will be 20 minutes. FORTY MINUTES later, my husband has to call back and is told it will be a bit longer because the rolls aren't done. Staff we not proactive in updating him or offering solutions.
He saw several groups go in the restaurant, eat, and leave in the time he was waiting.
They kept him waiting for over an hour and offered no apology. When he asked for a refund because he was sick of waiting, he was told no because "the food was already made."
We have spent THOUSANDS at this restaurant and this is how they act.
Family favorite and a go to when we cannot decide where we want to go. Love the sushi and entrees.
I normally order from here and the food is so good. However i came here on 07/29/2024 a Monday at 1pm and they said they were open so i came to get food and no one was here. I called twice, the door was unlocked lights were off. I gave it some time to go do some more shopping and tried calling again and still not open but it says on the site theyβre open. Please update the availability if you guys are closed on Mondays.
The food was fantastic and the service outstanding. Prices were very reasonable. It should be noted though that parties of 5 or more are automatically charged a 20 percent service charge.
Food is absolutely delicious. We had the Captains Curry, Bang Bang Shrimp, Takoyaki, Gyoza, and Jalapeno Crab Sushi. Absolutely delicious. The restaurant is nice for a quaint sushi spot. But I wish it had more of an entertainment appeal.
Nice lunch specials. The drunken noodles was great. The fish was ok. Didnβt taste the freshest. Forgot name of speciality roll I ordered but too much sauce and not enough fish.
Love the bento lunch boxes. The staff always accommodates my requests. Food is always hot and delicious and willing to fix any mistakes. We got salads with browned lettuce once and they replaced them without question. Great lunch spot!
My favorite restaurant in Dover. I enjoy the tofu pad thai. Only reason not 5 stars is because whenever I eat Chaiyo something bad happens. Not the restaurants fault, just my own misfortune. Won't stop me from going back every other week.
Always consistent. Always tastes fresh. Always accommodate my requests. One of my favorite places to order lunch when I'm at work.
The food here is so great, the drunken noodles are delicious and perfectly spicy, and the portion is huge! The volcano rolls are also amazing, great spice and flavor. A bit pricey but totally worth it, the atmosphere is great and so is the service, everything came out very quick (although it wasnβt very busy) and it was just a nice time overall.
Excellent food. In my opinion best Thai and sushi in Delaware. Specially today food was super tasty. This place is also a lot better than Dover one. Iβm long term customer at Dover and wife accidentally ordered in Camden and damn it was amazing. Even my kids tasted the difference. Thank you, especially the chef on 3/30/24
I LOVE this restaurant. However I don't know why, the one on Rt 8 has a better quality of food, or just a better chef, but I love that one the best
Except for the hostess that greets you when you go in, the staff are friendly and the food is good
Most rude so called Manger I ever met. A guest and I were waiting to be seated . The manager did not even acknowledge us. Proceed to ask the other couple how many. So I said excuse we were here first. She gave an attitude, stating she would take us all together. So, with that said, I allowed the elderly couple to go and wait to be seated since she asked them first. She turns and says sir. I replied that I was allowing them to go first. She got nasty, so I got nasty right back. If this is the type of mangers you hire here. Welp, you lost a customer!!
Good food, reasonable prices, nice waitress, good service
I absolutely love to eat π£π at this place. It is my go to place for sushi. You gotta try them, especially at lunch time
Nori November was great! How can you beat $5 rolls?
Why did I receive a small side salad when I paid $5+ for a regular size? Update: Thank you! I did receive the refund.
Love the Red Curry. So delicious.
Food was very good, but pricey for what you get. Staff was friendly and the restaurant was clean.
Great appetizer options. Fresh sushi
Very good sushi. Friendly, accepting staff
Basil fried rice was very tastee
Elite service exceptional food good portions. Automatic 20% gratuity for a party of 5 or more. Our fifth was a 10 month old. The pricing was clear and we could've gotten take out, but 20% gratuity just eliminated our tip.
Decently nice restaurant it seems but we got take out. They have a nice selection of Thai dishes. Unfortunately the flavoring is not great - some of the worst pad Thai Iβve had - and the added chicken to our dishes was very overcooked and quite dry. Would not recommend this restaurant overall.
Food was excellent and service was amazing. Love the sushi here, very fresh and tasty!
Since day one we love this place, staff is always ready to be kind and treat you with respect!
Googled was in the mood for sushi was highly recommended, service was great and sushi was fresh will definitely be back.
I love this restaurant, the food is great.
Way too pricey . Food lacks flavor, and definitely do not get what you pay for. Will not return. Will be going to Yukon from now on. Very disappointed. Does not deserve the one star honestly.
I have been wanting to eat there for a long time. It was definitely worth the wait. We truly enjoyed our meals and have been back 2 times in less then 2 weeks. The service was great, and prompt. Food came out fast and tasty. My husband who is Japanese was delighted with our meals. Looking forward for our return soon.
Great food, decent prices the atmosphere was pretty nice as well.this is a nice place to have a quick date night if your into sushi.
Waitress was very unpleasant, waited over an hour for sushi and only came to table once to check on drinks, we were table of 6 and charged gratuity, wound up paying almost 50 in tip and she certainly was not worth that, we didnβt even have a big order so there was no sense in over an hour for sushi. They changed salad ingredients, did not like. We will not be going back there again, too many other options around
For what we received the food is over valued. The recent price increases cannot be sustained. $17.00 for chicken wings, cmon.
$95.00 for dinner when A few months ago it would have been $50.00 to $60.00. Wouldnt mind the prices if the food met that kind of price point but the sushi is mediocre at best. This is not 5 star dining. Don't think we will be doing takeout from here again. This review is for the Lebanon road restaurant.
I had an extremely amazing meal there. Everything was perfect and delicious. I can't wait to go back and try something else
Very clean! Tom Yum was as good as what I had in Thailand! Taking a Thai friend there and getting 4-5 entres! Service was excellent.
always good.
Updated Review: Chaiyo immediately contacted us to get more details about the situation. They have provided excellent service recovery. Thank you!!
Initial Review: Chaiyo ruined our New Yearβs Eve. We had plans for a family night at home, ordered sushi and waited 2 hours for a call that the order was ready. Finally no call and had to cancel and quickly find alternate dinner options. Shouldnβt have allowed us to order online if the order couldnβt be ready in a reasonable timeframe. This is the 3rd mishap in less than 6 months. Disappointingβ¦
We have eaten here several times and we are always pleased with our food choices. We have tried different food each time and have not been disappointed. My husband loved the Captain's curry and crunchy basil duck on our visits. I love the ginger dressing on the salad and enjoyed the Thai Cashew Chicken and Drunken noodles. Yum!
Let me start by saying the food here was delicious. I had a Kani salad to start which was great. The lunch box special was delicious, sushi was great, miso soup was nice and hot and tasted great, and the salad that comes with it was awesome. Everyone I ate with also really loved their food, great sushi. The service however was what earned this place 3 stars instead of 5. I went in with 4 other people and asked for a table for 6 as we were meeting 1 other person on their lunch break, so I asked for a table for 6 and 5 of the 6 were there. I was told they canβt seat me until the party was all there. The restaurant had 2 other tables sat currently and the rest was open so I asked them to make an exception and told them that I was going to be ordering the last persons meal when we ordered ours. The host checked with the manager and said they would make an exception today but not in future visits. I thanked the host and said that I appreciated them making an exception and that I understood in the future my party would need to be complete before we were sat. I was grateful they made the exception and understand why this policy exists in the business. If they wouldnβt have made an exception I would have waited and understood. We were sat and then our server came to the table. Without a smile, an introduction, anything she very harshly approached the table and said βin the future you will not be sat until your party is fullβ and seemed extremely frustrated that we were even there at all. She was so cold it truly made me uncomfortable. My 12 year old picked up on this and was too scared to order from her. Iβve never been approached like this from a server. I had already been told that they made an exception, I thanked them, and I find it unacceptable for a server to scold me after already being seated. If she would have approached and introduced herself, greeted us, and then said βjust so you are aware you wonβt be sat in the futureβ I would have been fine with this. But her demeanor and approach were cold, angry, and extremely unwelcoming. You would think a server who only had 2 other tables would be happy to have a six top come in for lunch, but we were made to feel unwelcome and unwanted. As soon as she realized we would be ordering our missing guests food with our own her attitude totally changed, but at that point she had really made me feel uncomfortable. I wouldnβt dine in with this server again.
Edit after speaking with manager:
The manager responded quickly and was successful in communicating her solution with me. Thank you.
Great food and nicely sized portions
I like this place and food a lot. I am a frequent visitor here. But recently the prices went up 55% and quality down by 10%. I would have given 5 star but β¦
Their food is good but the 2 times we've ordered food for pick up they took a long time to complete the order. The last time I ordered online was for a 4:45 pick up time, I ordered hours in advance, and the food was delivered to our vehicle 45 minutes late. My husband sat in the parking lot for an hour waiting for the food. He was not happy
I had Crab Rangoon for a appetizer. Delicious! Very Tasty! I Highly recommend. I got 5 Crab Rangoon for $8.50 good amount of crab meat. Perfect cream cheese to crab ratio. Comes with a sweet Chile dipping sauce which taste good enough to just eat the sauce by itself, in my opinion. For the Main Entree, I got a Delaware roll. I don't remember all the ingredients but it was seafood based shrimp crab etc....the shrimp and crab was deep fried. I think it had white rice and some veggies. Delaware roll is very good. Cost $15.00 If you like crab and shrimp get the Delaware roll. Just Fyi, Beware it comes with a little dab of Wusabi and Some type of vegetable that looks like grilled onions but it smelled like pinesol to me. I didn't like these 2 things but I'm sure there is people out there that will. I got fried oreos for dessert. I got 5 for 6.50. I mean it's deep fried oreos enough said π. If you like sushi you will like Chaiyo. Great staff, competitive prices and relaxing atmosphere.
Definitely a must stop Ike its part of the routine on a bus stop! The atmosphere was very calm amd comfortable. The staff was elite, from dine in to the orders out the door. Chefs turned up the heat to make us dance in our seat amd the drinks were divine to make the meal complete!! The duck was better than I was expecting. For the record, they might have had the best chicken noodle soup I've ever had while dining out! I've been back three times. So this is a must stop if you're in the dover DE. Or surrounding areas!!
The food was really good and the server was a sweetheart. The things that I didnβt not enjoy so much about this place was that we were sat facing the window and the shades do not block the sun. Also, like most other places they are seriously understaffed, the food took a long while to arrive at our table. I do not fault those who are working here, but it might be a good idea to order your food in advance and use their take out option. The food is worth it, and itβs very reasonably priced.
Best Thai food! Try the pad woodsen my fav! Everything on the menu is 5 stars
I order the crispy duck with rice and my wife loves their tempura rolls. Only thing is once in a while I get dried out white rice and when we call to tell them it just we're sorry.. thats it. No we'll give you 10 percent discount on your next order, hell id even take a 2 percent discount.. all in all food is great but please don't serve dried out rice..
Always good!
This is one of our favorite places to eat sushi, maybe because it's not many others. Prices are reasonable.
Great Thai food. Sushi os ok. Poke bowls not recommended...
Two of us shared the bang bang shrimp and a lunch box special. Super fresh ingredients, high quality food, really nice front of house staff. Highly recommend! PS, bang bang is not too spicy, you will love it.
Great food. Nice atmosphere. Good service π
Food and service weren't that great. Will definitely stick with Yukon.
If the question "What's for lunch?" isn't answered within 5 minutes, the answer is Chaiyo. Not too expensive, great bento boxes, delicious curry. Keeps me coming back
Excellent food and service. Started with a delicious pear martini and a Kani salad. My husband and I shared a few signature rolls. All were fresh and tasty. Definitely our favorite sushi in Dover!!!
Great sushi and crab rangoons
Food was good, service was a bit so but guess that is normal these days.
Great Thai food, great environment, and a kids menu for the spicy-challenged.
Green curry was excellent.
Great specialty sushi rolls, poke bowls, Pad Thai, glass noodles too!
Love their sushi and curbside service!
I Loved this Place..but lately...there Slipping..I only Buy Sushi too...Product looks just thrown together...not Kool at all...π
Sushi rolls were super tiny for how expensive they were. Tasted meh. Spent like 60 bucks for just me and wife and had maybe a plate of food.
Food was great. They got slammed when we arrived. Waitress came from home and took extra special care of us since we had to wait 10 minutes to get service. Always refreshing to see someone who cares about the perception of the place they work. Hope she feels we took care of her as well. Good owners when you have staff like that. Salute!
Tables were dirty and sticky. When we advised the waitress about the tables being dirty, she didn't even acknowledge what we said. She just asked what we wanted to drink, as if dirty tables were to be expected. Then when I said I didn't know if I felt comfortable eating there based on those interactions, she quickly told us to have a good night, without any concern. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!
Great as always!
I have dined in as well as purchased take out from this location a few times. With each visit, I am always welcomed with reasonable prices, nice portions, and spectacular food. On occasion, however it may take a few minutes to be seated, I wouldnβt complain since the staff is very friendly and helpful. I look forward to continue ordering from here!
Excellent!
Well I made a mistake. Sorry, still love the food I was just looking forward to it today.
Caterpillar Roll and their roll The Chaiyo roll are the best! Good service and a knowledgeable bartender.
Service was just ok, took a bit to get out drinks. Went during lunch time and sushi did not taste fresh to me, had an upset stomach afterwards.
Pretty good, little pricy. The sushi rolls were tiny.
Wonderful.
Great food and service! Highly recommend!
YUMMMMMMMMMMM. I love this place. Vegetarian options are awesome. Drunken noodles are to die for. Theyβve gotten my order wrong a couple times but nothing Iβm too worried about because Iβve been here like a million times and only two times has it been wrong
Good sushi. A little pricey depending on the type of rolls you order. Nice atmosphere and workers are pleasant and polite.
Dining with a friend! Had the Hawaiian Bowl! Excellent!
Outstanding food an selections an service
Amazing place.
Great food, great drinks, great environment
Love!!!
Great food and good prices
Would have been 5 but our request for a sauce to be put on the side was forgotten. This made the flavor too intense to fully enjoy one of the meals. Asking them to redo the meal was out of the question for that visit due to time restraint.
Love this place
Best around and customer service can not be better thanks Chaiyo sushi just thanks
I love the selection of sushi!
The atmosphere is quiet; I love that. Courses come out quickly and the service is decent. Options for those that like raw sushis and those that don't. Bathroom was clean. The waitress offered that the drunken noodles were good, better than the pad Thai. I got the drunken noodles and it was exactly what my taste buds had been craving...and I'll ask for extra Thai basil next time. Will visit again.
First time there,family dinner. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Server was very nice,food was delicious,plentiful,and really awesome π. The entire time was great from beginning to end.
Easily the best Thai food around. High quality sushi as well!
It's was my first time eating at this place the food is fantastic π€―π€―
Yummy
A really lovely place with very nice staff. They offer a huge selection of what seem to be custom flavors and I really enjoyed my choice of the 'adirondack bear chocolate'.
You can't go wrong with the lunch specials. I haven't tried the entire menu yet but I would definitely buy everything I've tasted again.
Good food great service
Great place to get some sushi & Thai. Definitely a must try . Love their curves side pick up option. Super friendly also .
Excellent. Worthy of the high reviews already given.
Spotty service
Sushi was fresh
So good. The crispy duck is wonderful here. Also the tai tea is refreshing. I also really enjoy the food and it is priced proportionally. Great.
Good Food!
Great customer service and delicious food.
Wonderful service, friendly and covid safe. Food is great as well!!
Social distance compliance
Everything was good. Service was fast.
Great service and great food! I had the drunken noodle
Great food as always
The food is always good here. We have found it to be the best place to get sushi in the Dover area.
Online ordered two days early and they still couldn't get it right. Ordered and paid for Hamachi, but didn't receive it. Not favorably impressed.
Great food, great place to stop and grab lunch with some friends!
Good Sushi at reasonable prices. It was my first time there and they did not disappoint. Except they did not serve sweet tea. The food came out pretty fast. The salad was super fresh. I got the California roll (sorry I can't do the raw fish thingy) and teriyaki shrimp. My son got something with the raw fish (he offered me some, got a quick no thank, lol) and the Curry chicken. The Curry chicken has some kick π₯π₯! I will definitely be going back!
"Your order should be ready in 15-20 minutes. We will call you when it's done" They say. 40 minute later, no phone call. "We've been trying to get a hold of you" They say. This is the 2nd time in a row. Excellent food thought.
Sushi was good! Clean restaurant, good service, and decent price
- 11 photos
- 200 reviews
- 4.5 Health Rating
- Contact: +1 302-538-5214
- Website: http://www.mychaiyo.com/
- Location: 1151 E Lebanon Rd, Dover, DE 19901, United States
- Map: 39.1187618, -75.51088949999999
- Sushi restaurant
- Asian restaurant
- Thai restaurant
- Monday: 11β―AMβ3β―PMβ4:30β9β―PM
- Tuesday: 11β―AMβ3β―PMβ4:30β9β―PM
- Wednesday: 11β―AMβ3β―PMβ4:30β9β―PM
- Thursday: 11β―AMβ3β―PMβ4:30β9β―PM
- Friday: 11β―AMβ3β―PMβ4:30β9:30β―PM
- Saturday: 11β―AMβ3β―PMβ4:30β9:30β―PM
- Sunday: Closed
- No-contact delivery: Available
- Delivery: Available
- Takeaway: Available
- Dine-in: Available
- Fast service: Available
- Great tea selection: Available
- Lunch: Available
- Dinner: Available
- Solo dining: Available
- Wheelchair-accessible car park: Available
- Wheelchair-accessible entrance: Available
- Wheelchair-accessible seating: Available
- Wheelchair-accessible toilet: Available
- Alcohol: Available
- Beer: Available
- Coffee: Available
- Comfort food: Available
- Happy-hour food: Available
- Healthy options: Available
- Quick bite: Available
- Small plates: Available
- Vegan options: Available
- Vegetarian options: Available
- Wine: Available
- Lunch: Available
- Dinner: Available
- Dessert: Available
- Seating: Available
- Bar on site: Available
- Toilet: Available
- Casual: Available
- Cosy: Available
- Trendy: Available
- Groups: Available
- Tourists: Available
- Accepts reservations: Available
- Credit cards: Available
- Debit cards: Available
- NFC mobile payments: Available
- Credit cards: Available
- Good for kids: Available
- High chairs: Available
- Kids' menu: Available
- Free of charge street parking: Available
- Free parking lot: Available
- Parking: Available